Giuseppe Tartini and his Pupils


Giuseppe Tartini (1692-1770)

Sonata No. 1 in G (G1) from ‘Piccole Sonate’ CM081

(edited from a facsimile of the MS by Tony Urbainczyk)

violin part £3.00

score with realised continuo part £5.00

cello part £2.00

Giuseppe Tartini

Sonata No. 2 in D minor (d1) from ‘Piccole Sonate’ CM133

(edited from a facsimile of the MS by Tony Urbainczyk)

violin part £2.00

see the first page here

Giuseppe Tartini

Sonata No. 3 in D major (D1) from ‘Piccole Sonate’ CM148

Sonata No. 4 in C major (C1) from ‘Piccole Sonate’ CM149

Sonata No. 5 in F major (F1) from ‘Piccole Sonate’ CM156

Sonata No. 6 in E minor (e1) from ‘Piccole Sonate’ CM157

(all edited from a facsimile of the MS by Tony Urbainczyk)

violin part £2.00

In a letter of 1750, Tartini refers to his collection of ‘Piccole Sonate’ and says that he is in the habit of performing them unaccompanied. Some of the movements later in the series are unaccompanied anyway, or they have been inserted into earlier sonatas. These are enjoyable pieces to play and have been attracting more attention in recent years. Follow these links for further information:

Tartini [1]

Tartini [2]

Pasquale Bini (1716-1770)

Sonata in G for violin and continuo CM080

(edited from a MS in The Royal Library - The National Library of Denmark and Copenhagen University


score and part £4.00

This short sonata has 3 movements: Allegro - Andante - Presto, with

lively outer movements and an expressive minor key Andante.

Highest note top D in 3rd position.

Johann Gottlieb Graun (1703-1771)

Sonata in A minor GraunWV C:XVII:72 CM074

(edited from a score in SLUB - the Saxon State and University Library Dresden)

score (with keyboard realisation) and part £3.00

By one of Tartini’s most distinguished pupils, this is a fine, striking sonata in three movements

(Adagio, Allegro, Vivace) with some bold harmonies and expressive violin writing.

See our Graun page for a preview of the score

Antonín Kammel (1730-1784/5)

6 Solos, op. 8

(edited from a facsimile of the edition by Welcker, London, available from

The Early Music Company Ltd.)

in preparation

Maddalena Lombardini (Sirmen) (1745-1818)

Duet in C for two violins, (op. 5 no. 6) CM082

edited using a 19th century MS available at IMSLP and a set of printed parts from 1775

score and two parts


See our blog on Tartini and his pupils (and theirs)